[Skip to Content]


Since 1971, SCMS has annually honored the year’s best in cinema and media studies scholarship, teaching, and professional service.  The next round of awards will be presented at the 2023 SCMS Conference.  The submission period will begin Friday, July 1 and end Wednesday, August 3, 5:00PM CT.

Accessing the Portal
Members, please login using your cmstudies.org username and password to submit a nomination.
If you are not currently a member, please click here

Publishers - please sign up for an account at the link directly above and choose the "Publisher (Non-Member)" option.  All membership/account requests must be approved by SCMS staff. Please allow 24 hours for this process to be complete.  Thank you.

Digital Files Specifications

For book awards, digital files must be accessible to committee members without additional software or credentials. Watermarked digital copies are accepted. Physical copies of published books may be requested by the award committees at any point throughout the review process. Essays are digitally uploaded (PDF required) to the online submission portal at the time of submission.

Book or Project Awards

Katherine Singer Kovács Book Award
Honoring the memory of USC professor Katherine Singer Kovács, this award is given to an outstanding book published in the field of cinema and media studies.

Anne Friedberg Innovative Scholarship Award
Presented in memory of SCMS president-elect Anne Friedberg, this award recognizes innovative work that expands the discipline of cinema and media studies.

Best First Book Award
Recognizing the best first book by an author in the field of cinema and media studies.

Best Edited Collection Award
Awarded to the year’s best anthology in cinema and media studies.

Essay Awards

Katherine Singer Kovács Essay Award
Awarded to the best essay published in a journal.

Best Essay in an Edited Collection Award
Awarded to the best essay published in an anthology.

Student Awards

Student Writing Award
SCMS’s oldest honor, the Student Writing Award recognizes essays or writing by graduate students.

Dissertation Award
The Society’s annual award for an outstanding dissertation in cinema and media studies.

Teaching, Service, and Career Awards

Innovative Pedagogy Award
To recognize new methods, perspectives, and techniques in the teaching of Cinema, Radio, Television, and Emerging Media Studies.

Distinguished Pedagogy Award
For outstanding pedagogical achievement in the field of cinema and media studies.

Distinguished Service Award
For outstanding service to the Society.

Distinguished Career Achievement Award
For outstanding contributions to the field over the course of a career.