[Skip to Content]

Best First Book Award

The Best First Book Award offers a cash prize in recognition of the best first book published in the field of film and media studies. 


  • Books must be published between August 1, 2017 and July 31, 2018. 
  • Nominated titles must be the first book written by the entrant and must have a minimum length of 75,000 words. Republished volumes, edited collections, and multi-authored works or books previously published in another language are not eligible. Monographs or books published within a series are not eligible. 
  • Books submitted for this award are not eligible for other SCMS book awards. 


  • Entrants must complete the submission form by July 31, 2018, 5:00PM CT. 
  • If a digital ebook version is not submitted, three copies of the book must be received by August 2, 2018 5:00PM CT. Books received after this date will not be considered - No exceptions! 
  • Failure to meet requirements will result in disqualification. 
  • The SCMS Home Office will inform the official winner and all entrants. 
  • The chair of the committee will announce the winner of the award, read the committee citation, and present the winner with a certificate and a check for $1000 at the annual conference. A W-9 form is required before the check will be disbursed. 
  • Books submitted for consideration will not be returned.

Please mail book submissions to: 
Society for Cinema and Media Studies 
Best First Book Award 
640 Parrington Oval Old Science Hall, Room 300 
Norman, Oklahoma 73019